Techniques for prioritizing change requests and collecting data that can be used to monitor performance.

Approval Step

Approval Step

Configure a step for requests to be reviewed to decide which ones will be implemented. The Change Management template available in Tracker has an approval step where a request is assigned to a group. There are other ways to set up this step. For example, requests can be routed to a specific approver by department, product or request type.

See detailed steps in this Knowledge Base article.

Track Time Spent

Total Time

Track the amount of time spent implementing a change, then run reports to dissect the data. Check out this blog post for details.

Analyze Performance

Performance Report

Set up a User Pulldown field to capture who approved or implemented each change. This allows you to generate performance metrics. This blog post explains how to set this up.

If you maintain an on-premises installation of NetResults Tracker 6.7.3 or older, please upgrade to the latest version ( download, upgrade instructions ) as soon as possible.

Please upgrade so that your users can continue to access your NetResults Tracker installation with their preferred web browser as they are upgraded (many automatically).

Unless your users are running Internet Explorer or Firefox ESR they are either already being affected or soon will be affected by continued use of an out-of-date version of NetResults Tracker. The details for each supported web browser are below.

Mozilla Firefox 54+

Users who upgrade to Firefox 54+ (planned to be released June 13, 2017) will be unable to login until Tracker is upgraded.

More info: Firefox 53+ Support

Mozilla Firefox ESR 52+

While an upgrade is not required for Firefox ESR as it will stay on version 52 until at least Q1 2018, we do still recommend the upgrade to get the latest Tracker features and fixes.

Google Chrome 59+

Users upgraded to Chrome 59 will see an "unsupported web browser" warning. Users can login after clicking through the warning.

Users upgraded to Chrome 60+ (most likely released early July 2017) will be unable to login until Tracker is upgraded.

More info: Chrome 59+ Support

Apple Safari 10.1

Safari 10.1 users will be unable to login until Tracker is upgraded.

More info: Safari 10.1 Support

Microsoft Edge 15

Users upgraded to Edge 15 by the Windows 10 Creators Update should use NetResults Tracker 6.7.4 for the best experience.

Microsoft Internet Explorer 11

While an upgrade is not required for Internet Explorer 11 users, we do still recommend the it to get the latest Tracker features and fixes.

Declutter your pulldown option menus by hiding values that are no longer needed for new records.

If you've been using Tracker for many years (Thank you for your loyalty!), you may have option menu items that should no longer be displayed on the Add or Submit pages. You can mark old items as obsolete so they can't be selected for new records, but are still available in the system to be included in reports.

Note: If the pulldown is involved in a dependency, when you mark one of its items obsolete, all dependencies for that item (whether it is a child or parent) will be removed. The Online Help Guide explains an example of this case.

To mark an option menu item as obsolete:

  1. Login as Admin and click on the Admin icon.
  2. Click on the Fields link.
  3. Click on the Items button to the left of the pulldown field.
  4. Click on the Edit button to the left of the option menu item.
  5. Check the box for Value is Obsolete.
  6. Click OK to save the change.

Mark Obsolete

After you make this change, the item won't be displayed on the item list by default. You can show obsolete items by clicking on the filter options and selecting "Yes" for Filter By Obsolete.

Show Obsolete Items

To include obsolete items in a report:

  1. Click on the Home icon.
  2. Click on the Preferences link in the upper right.
  3. Scroll down to find Query Page Pulldown Settings.
  4. Check the box for Include Obsolete Items.
  5. Click OK to save the change.

Now the obsolete items will be available in the pulldown field on the Query and Metrics pages.

Include Obsolete Items

Please review the Online Help Guide for more detailed information about the effects of marking items obsolete.

Lock a user account to prevent login access.

If a user goes on leave or there is another reason for temporarily disabling a user account, it can be locked by an administrator.

To lock a user account:

  1. Login as Admin and click on the Admin icon.
  2. Click on the User Accounts link.
  3. Click on the Edit button to the left of the user account.
  4. Check the Account Locked option.
  5. Click OK to save the change.

The following message is displayed when a login is attempted on a locked account.

Account Locked

Limit the states that can be selected for newly added records.

Status on Add Page

Perhaps there are two or three different paths for new records in your workflow. You can allow users to pick where the record will be routed by showing the Status field on the Add Page. You can show the field to only specific users rather than showing it to everyone. This is done by creating a state group and selecting that state group for the Allowed Add States workflow option.

Use the steps in the Online Help Guide to add a state group.

To use the state group in your workflow:

  1. Login as Admin and click on the Admin icon.
  2. Click on the Workflows link.
  3. Select the desired workflow in the pulldown at the top.
  4. Locate the Forms section and expand the desired form.
  5. Click on the Manage link to the right of Default Add State Settings.
  6. For Allowed Add States, select the state group you created, then click OK.

Allowed Add States Option

Now, users who are allowed to set the Status field on the Add Page will see the desired states.

Allowed Add States