Start off with a template that has a form, fields and workflow modeled for your intended use already set up.

When you create a new workgroup, you can select from different templates for popular uses of Tracker such as Product Development, Support or Change Management. If none of the templates matches the process you are implementing, there is a Base template with a minimal configuration so that you can add your own fields workflow.

Choose a Template

Learn about the configuration of a template by clicking on a template's link in the Online Help Guide.

This blog post provides helpful information for implementing a new process or project.

Update the hostname used in the link included in email notifications.

Email Link

Email notifications can have a link to login to Tracker and view the related record. The link is based on what's set for the Hostname, Port Number and SSL settings in the Workgroup Management System. For example, an IP address is currently listed in the link and you want to use something like "ourcompany.nrtracker.com" instead. To change it, you would replace the IP address in the Hostname property with "ourcompany.nrtracker.com".

Edit Workgroup Settings

To update these settings:

  1. Login to the Workgroup Management System.
  2. Click on the Edit icon to the left of the workgroup.
  3. Make changes to the Hostname, Port Number and SSL settings.
  4. Enter a History Comment and click on the Update Workgroup button.

What you'll need to know if you have a server failure.

The main components of your Tracker installation are:

  • Web Server - this is the server where the Tracker software is installed
  • Database Server - A separate database server is not is use if you are using Access. For SQL Server or Oracle, it may be located on the same server as your web server or it may be remote.

To recover from a server failure, you'll need:

  • backup copies of the databases for the Workgroup Management System & User Management System
  • backup copies of the workgroup databases and their corresponding file attachments

This Knowledge Base article explains where to find these items.

Depending on the specifics of your situation, one of the following articles might be needed to set up your installation on a different server.

Need Help?

Not sure what procedure to use to recover your installation? Contact NetResults Technical Support for assistance.

Let NetResults Host Tracker For You

Want to break free of maintaining your installation? Migrate to the cloud service and let NetResults do the work for you. We have plans that will preserve your existing investment in Tracker licenses. Our Sales department can provide more information.

Find out the requirements for accessing the Workgroup Management System (WMS).

When you attempt to login to WMS, you might be prompted with a pop-up requesting credentials.

Prompt for Credentials

You should enter the credentials for a Windows user that is local to the server where Tracker is installed and has Administrator rights. The optimal user is the local "Administrator" account. A user with Domain Admin rights is not sufficient. This is a Windows requirement (not a Tracker requirement) because operations available in WMS make changes to the registry, file permissions and IIS settings. You may still be able to login as a user that does not meet the criteria above, but you may get errors like permission denied when trying to use WMS operations.

More information about logging into WMS is available in this Knowledge Base article.

Add a user that was previously deleted.

To restore a user:

  1. Login as Admin and click on the Admin icon.
  2. Click on the User Accounts link.
  3. Click on the Add User button.
  4. Click on the Add Existing Users link in the upper right corner.
  5. Users available to be restored will be listed. Click on the user, select any user groups to which you want to add the user, then click on the Add button.
  6. Click OK to confirm that you want to restore the user.

Existing Users

User Not Available to Restore

In on-premises installations, the user may not be available on the Existing Users list due to the User Management System configuration for deleting user accounts. If the Delete User option is checked, that indicates that a user will also be deleted from UMS when it is deleted from the User Accounts section of a workgroup. Uncheck this option if you want users deleted from a workgroup to remain in UMS.

UMS Options