Show a different set of transitions in a step depending on who is processing the record.

Options for Reporter

The list above shows the options available for the reporter in a product development process. The image below shows what the process manager sees when processing the same record.

Internal Options

This is configured using Transition Visibility. This can be set in the Make Visible to Users / User Groups option available for each transition.

Transition Options

To configure this option in an existing transition:

  1. Login as Admin and click on the Admin icon.
  2. Click on the Workflows link.
  3. Select the workflow in the pulldown at the top.
  4. Click on the Manage link to the right of States.
  5. Click on the state that contains the transition you wish to modify, then click on the Transitions button.
  6. Click Edit to the left of the transition you wish to modify.
  7. Make selections in the Make Visible to Users / User Groups option, then click OK to save the changes.
  8. Since transitions are configured with "<All Users>" selected by default, you'll need to repeat steps 6 and 7 for each transition available in that state.

For more information, please review the Transition Properties section of the Online Help Guide.

Alerts can be sent and repeated in 15 minute increments.

If you're using Alerts to regulate response times, you can trigger notifications in 15, 30 or 45 minute increments in Version 7.0 or newer.

Severity 1 Issues

You can set Alerts such that when a severity 1 issue is reported, it can trigger an alert every 15 minutes until someone takes action on the issue.

Severity 1 Example

To configure alerts this way, check out the based-on alerts blog post for details.

Information about upgrading to Version 7.0 or newer can be found on the downloads page.

Start off with a template that has a form, fields and workflow modeled for your intended use already set up.

When you create a new workgroup, you can select from different templates for popular uses of Tracker such as Product Development, Support or Change Management. If none of the templates matches the process you are implementing, there is a Base template with a minimal configuration so that you can add your own fields workflow.

Choose a Template

Learn about the configuration of a template by clicking on a template's link in the Online Help Guide.

This blog post provides helpful information for implementing a new process or project.

Techniques for prioritizing change requests and collecting data that can be used to monitor performance.

Approval Step

Approval Step

Configure a step for requests to be reviewed to decide which ones will be implemented. The Change Management template available in Tracker has an approval step where a request is assigned to a group. There are other ways to set up this step. For example, requests can be routed to a specific approver by department, product or request type.

See detailed steps in this Knowledge Base article.

Track Time Spent

Total Time

Track the amount of time spent implementing a change, then run reports to dissect the data. Check out this blog post for details.

Analyze Performance

Performance Report

Set up a User Pulldown field to capture who approved or implemented each change. This allows you to generate performance metrics. This blog post explains how to set this up.

Tracker has a wide variety of features & options, but some situations require a minimalist approach. Tracker has the flexibility to allow you to pare things down to show users the bare minimum to keep them focused on what's important.

Restricted Users

For users such as customers, vendors and end users, who only need to see the records they've reported, a Restricted user account is a great fit. No extra configuration is needed for the user to only have access to their own records. The following video has more information about Restricted Users.

User Group Privileges

A good place to scale things back is in the user group privileges. All standard users are members of the Users group and all Restricted users are members of the RestrictedUsers group. When deciding which privileges to disable for other user groups, you should ensure the privileges are also disabled in these groups since users inherit a basic set of privileges from these groups.

User Groups

To make changes to user group privileges:

  1. Login as Admin and click on the Admin icon.
  2. Click on the User Accounts link.
  3. Click on the Manage Groups button.
  4. Click on the Edit button to the left of the user group you wish to modify.
  5. Check the box for a privilege to enable or UNcheck to disable, then click OK to save the changes.

See the Online Help Guide for a description of each privilege.

View Page

Each section on the View Page is tied to a privilege so you can hide sections that are not necessary for a user group.

View Privileges

You can also set which fields are displayed for each user group. This allows you to show users only the fields they need to see.

View Page Field Visibility

To choose which user groups can see a field on the View Page:

  1. Login as Admin and click on the Admin icon.
  2. Click on the Fields link.
  3. Click on the Edit button to the left of the field you wish to modify.
  4. Scroll down to find the View Page Visibility option.
  5. Select the user groups that should be able to see the field on the View Page. To select multiple user groups, hold down the Ctrl button on your keyboard as you select user groups.
  6. Click OK to save the changes.


For some users, you may want to make reports available to them without giving them access to the Search and Metrics pages. They can run reports you make available to their user group on the Home Page, but cannot run ad-hoc report or save their own. This is done by disabling the Query Privileges and selecting "Home Page Only" in Metrics Privileges.

Report Privileges

A Simple View

The end result: A few toolbar icons and only the necessary fields and attachments. Alerts, Discussions and Record History disabled.

Minimal View